Fines for Parking or Traffic Citation Violations

Violation*Fine*
Vehicle registration violation
  • No permit/improper display of permit
  • Expired permit
  • Expired temporary permit
$30
Parking in a restricted/reserved parking space
  • Posted reserved/visitor space
  • Posted "No Parking" space
  • Posted 15 minute
  • Student parking in faculty/staff space
  • Faculty/staff parking in student space
  • Student Housing
$35
Illegal parking
  • Parking on curb
  • Parking on yellow curb
  • Parking on lawn or walkway
  • Blocking driveway or wheelchair ramp
  • Occupying more than one space
$40
Failure to comply with traffic control device
  • Entering wrong way
  • Failure to stop
  • Failure to yield
  • Unsafe vehicle operation
$50
Exceeding posted speed limit – 1 to 4 mph overno fine
Exceeding posted speed limit – 5 to 9 mph over$40
Exceeding posted speed limit – 10 to 14 mph over$50
Exceeding posted speed limit – 15 to 19 mph over$75
Exceeding posted speed limit – 20 to 24 mph over$100
Reckless driving$75
Parking in fire lane$100
Parking in handicap zone without permit$200
All other traffic, pedestrian and parking violations$35

*Repeat Violator

(Repeat violations accrued by academic calendar year, August – July.)

  • 3rd violation – base fine plus $15
  • 4th violation – base fine plus $25
  • 5th violation – base fine plus $40
  • 6th violation – base fine plus $50
  • 7th violation – possible revocation of vehicle operations privilege on GGC property
  • Vehicle immobilizer – $50

Towing

Georgia Gwinnett College reserves the right to impound any vehicle parked in a manner dangerous to vehicular or pedestrian traffic, or otherwise in violation of traffic/parking regulations. The owner is responsible for all cost involved in removing, impounding, and storing such vehicles. If time permits, an effort will be made to identify and contact the owner of the vehicle before impounding. This is accomplished by searching vehicle registration information.

Vehicle Immobilizer (Boot)

Georgia Gwinnett College reserves the right to immobilize any vehicle when the owner/operator accumulates five or more unpaid parking fines. The owner/operator is responsible for all costs involved in removing the vehicle immobilizer. If time permits, an effort will be made to identify and contact the owner of the vehicle before immobilizing. This is accomplished by searching vehicle registration information.

Fines for Campus and Housing Regulation Violations

Violation*Fine*
Abandoned trash, per bag$30
Disconnected/covered smoke detector$100
Early arrival$200
Entering/exiting through a window$125
Failure to evacuate$150
Failure to follow emergency procedures$150
False fire alarm$250
Improper check-out$25
Improper room change$25
Late departure$125
Lock charge$180
Lock out$50
Miscellaneous housing damages$50 minimum: rate varies, depending on damage
Removal of furniture$120
Removal of window screen or stopper$100
Unauthorized visitation$150

*Repeat Violator

(Repeat violations accrued by academic calendar year, August – July.)

  • 3rd violation – base fine plus $15
  • 4th violation – base fine plus $25
  • 5th violation – base fine plus $40
  • 6th violation – base fine plus $50