The Sustainability Committee is charged with supporting and implementing the comprehensive strategic plan for the conservation and recycling of resources at Georgia Gwinnett College.

Goals of the Committee

  • Collect methods and promote ongoing efforts to include sustainability in the curriculum
  • Promote and advance sustainable campus initiatives such as climate change mitigation, clean transportation, green building practices, and energy/water conservation
  • Serve as the point of contact for campus matters related to sustainability
  • Communicate information related to sustainability, including campus-wide goals and initiatives, to the community
  • Organize and assist with the organization of campus events to promote awareness for sustainability
  • Attend appropriate campus meetings and provide input for campus plans
  • Promote and advance campus-wide recycling efforts
  • Share information with other college and nonprofit sustainability organizations to gain insight and build sustainable communities

Current Major Projects

  • Exploring options for furthering formal and informal sustainability education 
  • Promoting the many sustainable practices our campus currently takes part in
  • Developing a feasible climate action commitment for our campus
  • Conducting a thorough assessment of sustainable practices on campus and developing a list of areas for improvement
  • Advocating for sustainable transportation on and off campus

Sustainability Committee Members

Brigitte Hoarau-Clifton
Ms. Brigitte Hoarau-Clifton
Assistant Professor of English /
Sustainability Director
School of Liberal Arts
bhoarau@ggc.edu
Ms. Susan Bleyle
Ms. Susan Bleyle
Assistant Professor of English
for Academic Purposes
School of Education
sbleyle@ggc.edu
Dr. Paul Grant
Dr. Paul Grant
Assistant Professor of Political
Science
School of Liberal Arts
pgrant@ggc.edu
Ms. Victoria Ann Hanson
Ms. Victoria Ann Hanson
Director of Auxiliary Services
vhanson@ggc.edu

 
Mr. Rex M. Kizzort
Mr. Rex M. Kizzort
Director of Campus Planning,
Design and Construction
Facilities
rkizzort@ggc.edu
Dr. Robert Mason
Dr. Robert Mason
Assistant Professor of 
Economics
School of Business
rmason@ggc.edu
Placeholder
Mr. Ian Thomas Rodgers
Assistant Director of Outdoor
Adventures Program
Wellness and Recreation
irodgers@ggc.edu
Placeholder
Ms. Stacey Watkins
Marketing Associate
watkins-stacey@aramark.com

 
Ms. Marcia Pendleton
Ms. Marcia Pendleton
Directory of Environmental 
Health and Safety
mpendleton@ggc.edu
 
Placeholder
Mr. Brandon Seay
Environmental Science Major
School of Science and
Technology

bseay@ggc.edu
 
Ms. Jessica Estep
ex-officio
Ms. Jessica Estep
Assistant Professor of English
School of Liberal Arts
jestep@ggc.edu
 
Dr. Amy H. Erickson
ex-officio
Dr. Amy H. Erickson
Associate Professor of Mathematics
School of Science and
Technology

aerickso@ggc.edu