GGC’s academic internship program connects students to relevant, real-world working experiences for academic credit. Academic internships are not only a learning experience for students, but also provide excellent benefits to participating employers. 

Academic internships vary depending on the chosen area of study. They may be paid or unpaid opportunities and range from 90-120 hours per semester. Opportunities are available throughout Gwinnett County and metro Atlanta and include businesses like the Gwinnett Daily Post, WSB-TV, The Carter Center, State Farm, Gwinnett Medical Center, Gwinnett County Public Schools and more.

Employer Information | Student Information

Employer Information

As a participating employer, you’re helping students bridge classroom learning with real-world experience in their field of study. Participating employers benefit by:

  • Creating a pipeline of new talent,
  • Qualifying future employees in “test-runs,” and
  • Gaining student perspectives who are currently seeking a degree in your industry.

Employers interested in hiring GGC students as academic interns may contact Ms. Kay Everett, internship program manager, at keverett@ggc.edu or 678.407.5235.

Student Information

Current students can discover the prerequisites for your major from the links below. Not-for-credit internship opportunities are also available through the Career Development and Advising Center.

Biology

Dr. Latanya Hammonds-Odie
lhammond@ggc.edu
678.939.5651

Learn more about biology internships.

Business Administration

Jason Gordon, JD, MBA, LLM
jgordon10@ggc.edu
843.810.0197

Learn more about business administration internships.

Chemistry          

Dr. Charmita Burch
cburch@ggc.edu
678.471.2216

Cinema and Media Arts Production

Ms. Katherine Balsley
kbalsley@ggc.edu
470.217.5374

Mrs. Chanju Lee
clee14@ggc.edu
770.545.5579

Learn more about Cinema and Media Arts Production internships.

Criminal Justice/Criminology

Dr. Ronald Hunter
rhunter@ggc.edu
678.524.6476

Learn more about criminal justice/criminology internships.

Education

Dr. Katharine Page
kpage2@ggc.edu
404.450.7978

Learn more about education internships.

English 

Dr. David Sepulveda
dsepulveda@ggc.edu
404.991.8634

Dr. Jason "Jake" Edwards
jedwards6@ggc.edu
678.332.9913

Dr. Daniel Vollaro
dvollaro@ggc.edu
678.682.5676 

Learn more about English internships.

Exercise Science

Dr. Timothy Tolbert
ttolbert1@ggc.edu
770.713.3984

Learn more about exercise science internships.

History

Dr. Kathryn Gray-White
kgraywhi@ggc.edu
678.381.4710

Introduction to Public History (HIST-3850) is offered during fall semester. Minimum requirements include:

  • 3.0 GPA or higher
  • Senior level by the spring semester after internship or prior to internship

Information Technology

Dr. Lissa Pollacia
lpollaci@ggc.edu
678.656.2126

Learn more about information technology internships.

Nursing

Amanda Reichert
areichert@ggc.edu
678.334.1002

Political Science

Dr. Matthew Gunning
mgunning@ggc.edu
404.993.8423

Psychology

Dr. Vickie Williams
vwilliams@ggc.edu
678.485.8354

Learn more about psychology internships.