Gain the most from your college experience! Our honor societies offer you the opportunity to participate in an integrated educational and social experience, which provides enhanced opportunities in scholarship, leadership, service and creativity.

Organizations

Alpha Phi Sigma National Criminal Justice Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Declare criminal justice/criminology as their major or minor,
  • Earn a minimum 3.2 overall GPA,
  • Earn a minimum 3.2 GPA in all criminal justice/criminology courses,
  • Rank in the top 35% of their class, and
  • Complete a minimum of four courses within the criminal justice/criminology curriculum.

Contact Dr. Marie Ratchford (mratchford@ggc.edu) or Lana McDowell (lmcdowell@ggc.edu). 

Beta Beta Beta National Biological Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Declare biology as their major,
  • Earn a minimum of 3.0 in all biology courses, and
  • Complete at least 12 hours of biology courses, including BIOL 1107K and BIOL 1108K.

Contact Dr. Ricky Fiorillo (rfiorill@ggc.edu) or Dr. Melissa Caspary (mcaspary@ggc.edu).

Golden Key International Honour Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Earn a 3.7 GPA or higher, and
  • Attain sophomore, junior or senior status.

Contact Mr. Tomas Jimenez (tjimenez@ggc.edu).

Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education

Eligibility Requirements

  • Be accepted into a GGC teacher preparation program,
  • Earn a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA, and
  • Be recommended by a School of Education faculty member.

Contact Dr. Bernadette Peiffer (bpeiffer@ggc.edu) or Dr. Kimberly Swartzentruber (kswartzentruber@ggc.edu).

Kappa Mu Epsilon National Mathematics Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Currently be enrolled at Georgia Gwinnett College,
  • Completed 3 semesters of college, 
  • Completed 3 math courses, at least one of which must be MATH 2200 or MATH 2210 or MATH 2220, and must have attained a GPA of 3.0 or better in all math courses.
  • Rank in upper 35% of their class, and
  • If student transferred to GGC from another institution, student must have completed at least one math course with a GPA of 3.0 or better at GGC. 

Contact Dr. Jennifer Sinclair (jsincla1@ggc.edu) or Dr. Livinus Uko (luko@ggc.edu).

Kappa Omicron Nu Human Sciences Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Declare exercise science as their major,
  • Rank in the top 25% of their class as a sophomore, junior or senior,
  • Complete a minimum of 45 college credit hours, and
  • Complete a minimum of 15 credits at GGC.

Contact Dr. Gabrielle Fundaro (gfundaro@ggc.edu).

The National Society of Leadership and Success

Eligibility Requirements

  • Be enrolled and registered in any course, in current term or last two terms,
  • Earn a minimum 3.3 GPA, and
  • Complete between 30 and 90 credit hours.

All majors are accepted.

Contact Dr. C. Douglas Johnson (cjohnson@ggc.edu) and Dr. Janita Rawls (jrawls@ggc.edu).

Omicron Delta Epsilon, The International Honor Society for Economics

Eligibility Requirements

  • Must be an economics major,
  • Must have a minimum of 12 hours in economics courses,
  • Must have a minimum 3.0 GPA in all economics courses, and
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA overall.

Contact Dr. Wes Routon (prouton@ggc.edu).

Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Earn a 3.1 minimum cumulative GPA in 12 or more hours of history courses (any level),
  • Earn an overall minimum 3.0 GPA (cumulative), and
  • Rank in the upper 35% of their class.

All majors are accepted.

Contact Dr. Nathan Orgill (norgill@ggc.edu), Dr. Richard Rawls (rrawls@ggc.edu) or Dr. Carey Shellman (cshellma@ggc.edu).

Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Earn an overall GPA that ranks them in the top 33% of their junior or senior class,
  • Attain junior or senior standing, and
  • Complete at least 10 hours of political science courses, including at least one upper-division course, with an average grade of 3.0 or higher.

Contact Dr. Michael Lewkowicz (mlewkowi@ggc.edu) or Dr. Laura Bourland (lbourlan@ggc.edu).

Psi Chi International Honor Society in Psychology

Eligibility Requirements

  • Declare psychology as their major,
  • Earn a 3.25 overall GPA (GGC only), 
  • Earn a 3.25 minimum psychology GPA (GGC only),
  • Attain at least a second semester sophomore standing, 
  • Complete at least 9 hours of psychology courses at GGC, and
  • Have no history of academic misconduct.

Contact Dr. Benjamin Brown (bbrown6@ggc.edu) or Dr. Kristina Brown (kbrown6@ggc.edu).

Sigma Beta Delta International Honor Society for Business, Management and Administration

Eligibility Requirements

  • Declare business as their major, 
  • Rank in the top 20% among business majors
  • Attain junior or senior standing, and
  • Complete a minimum of 12 credit hours at GGC, and
  • Complete a minimum of 15 credit hours of business courses.

Contact Dr. Brett Young (byoung9@ggc.edu), Dr. Cassie Bradley (cbradle1@ggc.edu) or Dr. Miranda "Mei" Zhang (mzhang@ggc.edu).

Sigma Iota Rho Honor Society for International Studies

Eligibility Requirements

  • Earn a GPA of at least 3.4 in international studies* courses,
  • Earn a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or higher in all courses,
  • Attain at least a junior standing, and
  • Complete at least 21 hours of international studies* coursework (at least 2 courses must be at the 3000 or 4000 level).

*International studies include courses in various disciplines, including political science, history, anthropology, foreign languages, geography, economics and international business.

Contact Dr. Dovile Budryte (dbudryte@ggc.edu) or Ms. Cele Blair (cblair@ggc.edu).

Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society

Eligibility Requirements

  • Earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA,
  • Complete a minimum of 2 English courses at the 2000-level or above, and
  • May or may not be majoring or minoring in the discipline of English.

Contact Dr. Rebecca Flynn (rflynn1@ggc.edu), Dr. Rachel Bowser (rbowser@ggc.edu), or Dr. Joshua Beall (jbeall@ggc.edu).

Upsilon Pi Epsilon International Honor Society for Computing and Information Disciplines

Eligibility Requirements

  • Declare information technology as their major or minor,
  • Earn a minimum 3.0 overall GPA,
  • Earn a minimum 3.3 GPA in the information technology major,
  • Complete at least 18 hours of ITEC courses, and
  • Complete at least 60 credit hours (all courses).

Contact Dr. Anatoly Kurkovsky (akurkovsky@ggc.edu) or Dr. Joycelyn Streator (jstreato@ggc.edu).