GGC presents academic convocation, honors students and faculty

Dr. Daniel J. Kaufman presents award to Dr. C. Douglas Johnson

Dr. C. Douglas Johnson, left, and GGC President Dr. Daniel J. Kaufman 

Outstanding students and faculty received special recognition at Georgia Gwinnett College’s Academic Convocation September 20.  

“Convocation celebrates GGC’s vision and mission,” said Stas Preczewski, vice president of Academic and Student Affairs. “The ceremony honors those who most exemplify the college’s core values.”

The ceremony comments by Dr. Douglas Johnson, associate professor of management, and Seijin Tranberg, president of the Student Government Association, both recipients of 2012 convocation awards.

Award winners included:

Outstanding Freshman:  Brendan Sanders

Outstanding Student – School of Business: Joseph Bienkowski

Outstanding Student – School of Education:  Catherine Pritchett

Outstanding Student – School of Liberal Arts:  Darlene Vincent

Outstanding Student – School of Science & Technology:  Linda Morehead

Outstanding Student – Student Success:  Naa Ayele Annuva

Outstanding Student Employee:  Samantha Waldrop

Outstanding Student Creativity/Scholarship: Tia Walters

Outstanding Student Leadership:  Seijin Tranberg

Outstanding Student Service:  Laurie Hudson

Staff Awards: David Gabrell and Laura Holder

Faculty Award - Teaching:  C. Douglas Johnson

Faculty Award - Scholarship & Creative Activities:  Joseph C. Sloop

Faculty Award - Service: Alvina Atkinson

Faculty Award – Student Engagement: Josephine Dawuni

Faculty Award – Part-time Teaching: Thomas De Bra

All of the students are from Lawrenceville except for Joseph Bienkowski, Suwanee; Samantha Waldrop, Auburn and Laurie Hudson, Snellville.

Return to News and Events

View our News Archive by Year